intercellular communication through chemical signals

0
11142

1- Introduction :

Intercellular communication is one of the features of multicellular organisms, provided by chemical molecules (informative or messengers molecules) issued by a cell (said transmitter) and recognized by another cell (said receiver). This communication directs the fundamental cell process, coordinates their activity and allows the different cells of the body to perceive their microenvironment.

2- The different communication strategies by chemical signals :

On distingue 4 types of intercellular communication: La communication endocrine, paracrine, autocrine and chemical synaptic (figure 01).

3- Overview of informational molecules and their receptors :

An information molecule is a synthesized chemical molecule and secreted by a said cell secretory and acts on another receiving said cell (target) by interacting with specific molecules. Intercellular communication involves 3 main types of chemical signals :

    1. The water-soluble molecules informative : They act through specific receptors located at the plasma membrane of the target cell. This is the case of neurotransmitters, des cytokines, peptide hormones.
    2. The fat-soluble molecules informative : These molecules cross the lipid bilayer of the target cell by simple diffusion and act on intracellular receptors. This is the case of steroid hormones (cortisol and sex hormones) and thyroid hormone.
    3. The gaseous free radicals : The best known is the nitric oxide (NO). Their characteristic is to freely diffuse through the plasma membrane and act directly on the cytosolic enzymes, without the intervention of membrane or intracellular receptors.
Figure 01. the 4 intercellular communication modes by chemical signals.

(1). When endocrine communication, hormones produced by endocrine glands are secreted into the blood stream, and can be widely distributed throughout the body (example: insulin, glucagon…). (2). When paracrine communication, the chemical signal is released into the extracellular medium and acts only on the neighboring cells : it is a local chemical mediator (example : growth factors of & rsquo; vascular endothelium (VEGF), cytokines). (3). When autocrine communication, the cell secretes a signal which acts on one of its own receptors. The chemical mediator is local (example : Cytokines, epidermal growth factors (EGF)). (4). During chemical communication svnapticiue, the first messenger (neurotransmitter) is released by the presynaptic element and acts only on the post-synaptic a specialized nearby junction element (synapses intemeuronales, neuromuscular), without signal dispersion, what distinguishes communication by endocrine pathway (example : choline acetyl, noradrenaline… )

Figure 02. Signal transduction by water-soluble molecules.

The informational molecule attaches to a specific membrane receptor which triggers signal transduction. The signal is transmitted to the & rsquo; inside the cell by a conformational change of the intracellular portion of the receptor or triggering its enzymatic activity (sometimes the receptor is an ion channel ligand-dependent). This change in conformation or function then induces & rsquo; initialization of various signaling pathways typically by & rsquo; via secondary messengers (second messengers).

4- Membrane receptors of soluble molecules and their diversity :

A membrane receptor can be defined as a molecular structure (protein, often a glycoprotein) that interacts specifically with a "messenger" (hormone, growth factor, neurotransmitters ..). This interaction creates a change in the receptor leading to a cellular response (transduction du signal). It includes an extracellular part (hydrophilic block) where is the recognition site and fixing

informative molecule, a transmembrane portion (hydrophobic sequence) and an intracellular effector function involved in party (transduction du signal).

On distingue 3 major types of membrane receptors.

  1. G protein-coupled receptors.
  2. enzymes receptors.
  3. ion channel receptors.

A- G protein-coupled receptors (RCPG) :

GPCRs are transmembrane proteins (glycoproteins) indirectly controls the activity of a target protein bound to the plasma membrane (an enzyme or an ion channel) via a heterotrimeric G protein.

Figure 03. General schematic structure of G-protein coupled receptors.

The GPCR is a polypeptide chain with seven transmembrane hydrophobic segments (TM1 to TM7), connected by three intracellular loops (II, 12, 13) and three extracellular loops (The, E2, E3). A disulfide bridge connects El to E2. L & rsquo; amino terminus (NH2) is extracellular, l & rsquo; carboxy-terminus (COOH) is intracellular. The latter can introduce a lipid anchor into the membrane, which creates a fourth loop, 14. Noting also that the extracellular domain is always glycosylated.

Figure 04. GPCRs are able to recognize extremely diverse ligands (photons, ions, odorants, peptides, lipids, protein…).

After ligand binding domain on the extra cellular GPCR, the intracellular domain changes its conformation and activates a heterotrimeric G protein (a,p,Y) which hydrolyzes GTP (Guanosine triphosphate) followed by separation of subunits a and py. G protein transmits the signal to membrane enzymes (adenylyl cyclase, phospholipase C, phosphocüestérase…), or ion channels that act as primary effector. The primary effector activation leads to the production of second messengers (AMPc, Inositol triphosphat. Diacylglycerol, Ca ++ …) responsible for transmission of the signal within the cell.

Noting also that the activation of the primary G protein effector is done either by the subunit or subunits of the complex p,Y.

Protein G is a heterotrimeric protein anchored in the inner leaflet of the plasma membrane. It exists in 3 large classes : Gs : stimulated adenylate cyclase. Give : Inhibits adenylate cyclase. Gq : stimulates phospholipase C.

  • Example 1 : adenylate cyclase-cyclic AMP pathway.
Figure 05. Ligand binding to its specific receptor (RCPG) active G protein (Gs) which establishes a GTP molecule by the unit under a, which leads to dissociation of the complex "Py. The unit was activated in I7adenylate stimulates cyclase, enzyme capable of converting ATP into cAMP. The molecules of cAMP produced in significant quantities act as second messengers responsible amplification of the signal and transmitting the message inside the cell. (Example : Adrenaline, glucagon, ACTH…).
  • Example 2 : signaling pathway by phospholipase C
Figure 06. Ligand binding to its specific receptor (muscanmque) causes the activation of phospholipase C via G protein (Gq, subunit), which leads to the formation of two second messengers, l’inositol 1,4,5 triphosphate (IP3) and diacylglycerol (DAY). The IP3 migre the inténeur the cells and s'attache sur ces récepteurs spécifiques (Ca ++ ligand dependent channels) located on the RE membrane resulting in the release of Ca ++ in the cytosol. As for the DAG, it remains bound to the plasma membrane and the active lanase C protein which is responsible for a phosphorylation cascade. Example ligands (Acetylcholine receptor on its muscanmque. Histamine ).

B- Enzymes receptors (Enzymatically active) :

Enzyme receptors have a single transmembrane domain, glycosylated extracellular domain and an intracellular domain with enzymatic activity (or associated with an enzyme).

These receptors exist in 4 large classes:

a) the receptor kinase activity (Tyrosine, serine / threonine”)

b) the phosphatase activity to receptors (Tyrosine. serine / threonine).

c) Coupled receptors kinaseslTvrosine. histidine”)

d) the guanylates cyclases transmembranaires (synthetic GM Pc).

Figure 07. Structure of membrane receptor tyrosine kinase activity.

In the inactive state, these receptors are found as monomers in the plasma membrane, with the exception of some receptors such as the insulin receptor and 1TGF1. Ligand binding induces receptor dimerization (dimer formation). (EGF: The epidermal growth factor. PDGF: Growth factor platelet derived: N GF: The nerve growth factor: Insulin-like GF1 : growth factor 1 like the & rsquo; insulin).

Figure 08. Ligand binding (L) receptor (R) leads to dimerization in the case of monomeric receptors (one growth factor such). Some receivers are starting dimeric ; of the 1 Insulin has two sub- units extracellular, related to two transmembrane subunits p by disulfide bridges. L & rsquo; cross autophosphorylation of the intracellular catalytic domains allows & rsquo; activation by phosphorylation of substrate proteins (PS) having different biological activities, and which typically triggers a cascade of phosphorylation.
Figure 09. membrane receptor activity guanylate cyclase. Binding of ligand to the receptor activates the guanylate cyclase activity of the intracellular domain which leads to the synthesis of GMPcyclique which acts as a second messenger. Example ligands : Peptide atrial natriurétique (ANP).

C- ion channel receptors :

Have ionic ligand -dependent channels, which constitute a superfamily of receptor multimeric, which each monomer has 4 transmembrane domains.

Example : nicotinic acetylcholine receptor P (figure 10).

Figure 10. To the left, structure of the acetylcholine receptor (5 subunits). To the right, operation of receiver channel (A), and structure of each subunit (B). Noting also that two acetylcholine molecules attach to the sub units.

Course of DR AOUATI Amel – Faculty of Constantine

Communication intercellulaire par des signaux chimiques

0
174

1- Introduction :

La communication intercellulaire est l’une des caractéristiques des organismes pluricellulaires, assurée par des molécules chimiques (messagers ou molécules informatives) émises par une cellule (dite émettrice) et reconnues par une autre cellule (dite réceptrice). Cette communication dirige les processus fondamentaux des cellules, coordonne leur activité et permet aux différentes cellules de l’organisme à percevoir leur micro-environnement.

2- Les différentes stratégies de communication par des signaux chimiques :

On distingue 4 types de communications intercellulaires: La communication endocrine, paracrine, autocrine et synaptique chimique (figure 01).

3- Aperçu sur les molécules informatives et leurs récepteurs :

Une molécule informative est une molécule chimique synthétisée et secrétée par une cellule dite sécrétrice et qui agit sur une autre cellule dite réceptrice (cible) en interagissant avec des molécules spécifiques. La communication intercellulaire fait intervenir 3 principaux types de signaux chimiques :

    1. Les molécules informatives hydrosolubles : Elles agissent grâce à des récepteurs spécifiques situés au niveau de la membrane plasmique de la cellule cible. C’est le cas des neurotransmetteurs, des cytokines, des hormones peptidiques.
    2. Les molécules informatives liposolubles : Ces molécules franchissent la bicouche lipidique de la cellule cible par diffusion simple et agissent sur des récepteurs intracellulaires. C’est le cas des hormones stéroïdes (cortisol et hormones sexuelles) et l’hormone thyroïdienne.
    3. Les radicaux libres gazeux : Le mieux connue est le monoxyde d’azote (NO). Leur particularité est de diffuser librement au travers la membrane plasmique et d’agir directement sur des enzymes cytosoliques, sans intervention de récepteurs membranaires ou intracellulaires.
Figure 01. les 4 modes de communication intercellulaires par des signaux chimiques.

(1). Lors de la communication endocrine, les hormones produites par les glandes endocrines sont secrétées dans le courant sanguin, et elles peuvent être largement distribuées dans tous le corps (exemple: insuline, glucagon…). (2). Lors de la communication paracrine, le signal chimique est libéré dans le milieu extracellulaire et agit seulement sur les cellules voisines : c’est un médiateur chimique local (exemple : facteurs de croissances de l’endothélium vasculaire (VEGF), cytokines). (3). Lors de la communication autocrine, la cellule sécrète un signal qui agit sur l’un de ses propres récepteurs. Le médiateur chimique est local (exemple : Cytokines, facteurs de croissance épidermique (EGF)). (4). Lors de la communication svnapticiue chimique, le premier messager (neurotransmetteur) est libéré par l’élément pré-synaptique et agit seulement sur l’élément post-synaptique d’une jonction spécialisée voisine (synapses intemeuronales, neuro-musculaires), sans dispersion du signal, ce qui la distingue de la communication par voie endocrine (exemple : acétyle choline, noradrénaline… )

Figure 02. Transduction du signal par des molecules hydrosolubles.

La molécule informative s’attache sur un récepteur membranaire spécifique ce qui déclenche la transduction du signal. Le signal est transmis à l’intérieur de la cellule par un changement de conformation de la partie intracellulaire du récepteur ou par déclenchement de son activité enzymatique (parfois le récepteur est un canal ionique ligand-dépendant). Ce changement de conformation ou de fonction induit ensuite l’initialisation de diverses voies de signalisation généralement par l’intermédiaire de messagers secondaires (seconds messagers).

4- Les récepteurs membranaires des molécules hydrosolubles et leur diversité :

Un récepteur membranaire peut être défini comme une structure moléculaire (protéine, souvent une glycoprotéine) qui interagit spécifiquement avec un «messager» (hormone, facteur de croissance, neurotransmetteurs..). Cette interaction crée une modification du récepteur qui conduit à une réponse cellulaire (transduction du signal). Il comporte une partie extra cellulaire (séquence hydrophile) où se trouve le site de reconnaissance et de fixation de

la molécule informative, une partie transmembranaire (séquence hydrophobe) et une partie intracellulaire impliquée dans la fonction effectrice (transduction du signal).

On distingue 3 grands types de récepteurs membranaires.

  1. Récepteurs couplés aux protéines G.
  2. Récepteurs enzymes.
  3. Récepteurs canaux ioniques.

A- Les récepteurs couplés aux protéines G (RCPG) :

Les RCPG sont des protéines transmembranaires (glycoprotéines) contrôlent indirectement l’activité d’une protéine cible liée à la membrane plasmique (une enzyme ou un canal ionique) par l’intermédiaire d’une protéine G hétérotrimérique.

Figure 03. Structure schématique générale des récepteurs couplés aux protéines-G.

Le RCPG est une chaine polypeptidique à sept segments transmembranaires hydrophobes (TM1 à TM7), reliés par trois boucles intracellulaires (II, 12, 13) et trois boucles extracellulaires (El, E2, E3). Un pont disulfure relie El à E2. L’extrémité amino-terminale (NH2) est extracellulaire, l’extrémité carboxy-terminale (COOH) est intracellulaire. Cette dernière peut présenter un ancrage lipidique dans la membrane, ce qui crée une quatrième boucle, 14. Notant également que le domaine extracellulaire est toujours glycosylé.

Figure 04. Les RCPG sont capables de reconnaître des ligands extrêmement variés (photons, ions, molécules odorantes, peptides, lipides, protéines…).

Après la fixation du ligand sur le domaine extra cellulaire du RCPG, le domaine intracellulaire change de conformation et active une protéine G hétérotrimérique (a,p,y) qui hydrolyse le GTP (Guanosine triphosphate) suivie d’une dissociation des sous unités a et py. La protéine G transmet le signal à des enzymes membranaires (adénylcyclase, phospholipase C, phosphocüestérase…), ou à des canaux ioniques qui jouent le rôle d’effecteurs primaires. L’activation d’effecteurs primaires conduit à la production de seconds messagers (AMPc, Inositol triphosphat. Diacylglycerol, Ca++ …) responsables de la transmission du signal à l’intérieur de la cellule.

Notant également que l’activation de l’effecteur primaire par la protéine G se fait soit par la sous unité a ou par le complexe de sous unités p,y.

La protéine G est une protéine hétérotrimérique ancrée dans le feuillet interne de la membrane plasmique. Elle existe sous 3 grandes classes : Gs : stimule l’adénylate cyclase. Gi : Inhibe l’adénylate cyclase. Gq : stimule la phospholipase C.

  • Exemple 1 : Voie adénylate cyclase-AMPcyclique.
Figure 05. La fixation du ligand sur son récepteur spécifique (RCPG) active la protéine G (Gs) qui fixe une molécule de GTP par la sous unité a, ce qui conduit à la dissociation du complexe «Py. La sous unité a activée stimule I7adenylate cyclase, enzyme capable de transformer l’ATP en AMPc. Les molécules d’AMPc produites en quantités importantes jouent le rôle de seconds messagers responsables d’amplification du signal et de la transmission du message à l’intérieur de la cellule. (Exemple : Adrénaline, glucagon, ACTH…).
  • Exemple 2 : Voie de signalisation par la phospholipase C
Figure 06. La fixation du ligand sur son récepteur spécifique (muscanmque) engendre l’activation de la phospholipase C par l’intermédiaire de la protéine G (Gq, sous unité a), ce qui conduit à la formation de deux seconds messagers, l’inositol 1,4,5 triphosphate (IP3) et le diacyl glycérol (DAG). L’IP3 migre à l’inténeur de la cellule et s’attache sur ces récepteurs spécifiques (canaux Ca++ ligands dépendant) situés sur la membrane de RE ce qui entraîne la libération de Ca++ dans le cytosol. Quant au DAG, il reste lié à la membrane plasmique et active la protéine lanase C qui est responsable d’une cascade de phosphorylation. Exemple de ligands (Acétylcholine sur son récepteur muscanmque. Histamine ).

B- Les récepteurs enzymes (à activité enzymatique) :

Les récepteurs enzyme possèdent un seul domaine transmembranaire, un domaine extra cellulaire glycosylé et un domaine intracellulaire à activité enzymatique (ou associé à une enzyme).

Ces récepteurs existent sous 4 grandes classes:

a) les récepteurs à activité kinase (Tyrosine, sérine/thréonine »)

b) les récepteurs à activité phosphatase (Tyrosine. sérine/thréonine).

c) Les récepteurs couplés aux kinaseslTvrosine. histidine »)

d) les guanylates cyclases transmembranaires (synthèse de GM Pc).

Figure 07. Structure des récepteurs membranaires à activité tyrosine kinase.

À l’état inactif, ces récepteurs se trouvent sous forme de monomères au niveau de la membrane plasmique, à l’exception de certains récepteurs tels que le récepteur de l’insuline et de 1TGF1. La liaison du ligand induit la dimérisation du récepteur (formation d’un dimère). (EGF: Le facteur de croissance épidermique. PDGF: Le facteur de croissance dérivé des plaquettes: N GF: Le Facteur de croissance des nerfs: Insulin-like GF1 : facteur de croissance 1 ressemblant à l’insuline).

Figure 08. La liaison du ligand (L) au récepteur (R) conduit à une dimérisation dans le cas des récepteurs monomériques (celui du facteur de croissance par exemple). Certains récepteurs sont au départ dimériques ; celui de 1 Insuline comporte deux sous- unités a extracellulaires, liées à deux sous-unités p transmembranaires par des ponts disulfures. L’autophosphorylation croisée des domaines catalytiques intracellulaires permet l’activation par phosphorylation de protéines substrats (PS) ayant différentes activités biologiques, et ce qui déclenche habituellement une cascade de phosphorylation.
Figure 09. Récepteur membranaire à activité guanylate cyclase. La liaison du ligand sur le récepteur déclenche l’activité guanylate cyclase du domaine intracellulaire ce qui conduit à la synthèse de GMPcyclique qui joue le rôle de second messager. Exemple de ligands : Peptide atrial natriurétique (ANP).

C- Récepteurs canaux ioniques :

Se sont des canaux ioniques ligand -dépendant, qui constituent une superfamille de récepteurs multimériques, dont chaque monomère possède 4 domaines transmembranaires.

Exemple : récepteur nicotinique de P acétylcholine (figure 10).

Figure 10. A gauche, structure du récepteur de l’acétylcholine (5 sous unités). A droite, fonctionnement du récepteur canal (A), et structure de chaque sous-unité (B). Notant également que deux molécules d’acétylcholine s’attachent sur les sous unités a.

Cours du DR AOUATI Amel – Faculté de Constantine

LAISSER UN COMMENTAIRE

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here