Cytosquelette

0
6563

The three main fibers of the cytoskeleton are microfilaments, microtubules and intermediate filaments. These fibers interact to modulate the shape and allow movement of the cell ; they are also involved in the transport of materials within the cytoplasm.

The cytosol of all eukaryotic cells is covered with a network of protein fibers that ensure the shape of the cell and anchor are organelles in defined sites. this network, called cytoskeleton, is a dynamic system, assembling and disassembling constantly. Each of cytoskeletal fibers constructed by polymerization, identical protein subunits attracting each other and spontaneously assembling into long chains. It's the same way that these fibers dissociate, their subunits releasing one after the other from one end of the chain.

The cytoskeleton may comprise three different types of fibers together by their constituent subunits :

1- Microfiiaments :

Microfilaments are long fibers having a diameter of approximately 7 nanometers ; they are composed of two protein chains intertwined loosely as two strings of pearls (figure1), each bead consisting of a globular protein, actin. It is spontaneously that actin molecules associate with microfilaments.

The rate of polymerization of actin molecules is regulated by other proteins that function as switches, engaging the polymerization process at the appropriate time. Microfilaments are responsible for cell movements such as contraction.

2- Microtubules :

Microtubules are hollow tubes with a diameter of approximately 25 nanometers, trained 13 protein protofilaments arranged in a ring (figure 1). Each protofilament is formed by the polymerization of dimers formed globular proteins of a and |B tubuline. The protofilaments are arranged side by side around a central hollow heart, providing microtubule its tubular shape characteristic. micro- tubules often originate in the cell central region, from where they radiate toward the periphery. They are in constant dynamic state of polymerization and depolymerization. The average half-life varies a microtubule 20 seconds 10 minutes in an animal cell according to whether it is or not division. The ends of nearby microtubules nucleation center are designated " – », those who are distant " + ». In addition to their involvement in facilitating cell movement, microtubules are also responsible for the movement of materials within the cell. Special motor proteins, move in the cell organelles along microtubules. proteins, the kinesins, transport organelles towards the ends " + » (towards the periphery) while the dynéines transport them to the ends " – ».

3- intermediate filaments :

The most stable components of the cytoskeleton of animal cells are made of resistant fibrous proteins, interleaved in accordance with a particular interleaving system (figurel). The structures that constitute a diameter of 8 at 10 nanometers, between that of the microfilaments and microtubules, hence the name of intermediate filaments. Once formed intermediate filaments are stable and do not dissociate. Intermediate filaments are a heterogeneous group of fibers of the cytoskeleton. The most common type, compound of subunits called protein vimentine, provides structural stability to many cells. The keratin, another class of intermediate filament, is located in the epithelial cells (cells lining organs and body cavities) and in structures that are associated, such as hair and nails. Intermediate filaments of nerve cells are called neurofilaments.

Figure 1 : The constituent molecules of the cytoskeleton.

Microfilaments ; consist of two twisted wires each consisting of a string of a globular protein, actin. Microfilaments are found almost everywhere in the cell, but in particular in the plasma membrane where they are grouped into bundles referred to as stress fibers, that may have a contractile function. Microtubules : microtubules are composed of subunits of tubulin, proteins arranged side by side to form a tube. It is relatively rigid elements of the cytoskeleton, involved in the organization of metabolism, intracellular transport and stabilize the cell structure. intermediate filaments : intermediate filaments are composed of tetrameric interleaved and staggered protein. That provision confers a huge mechanical strength to the cell.

centrioles, centers of microtubule assembly :

The centrioles are cylindrical organelles found in animal cells, they occur in pairs, generally at right angles to , vis-à-vis the other, near the core (figure 2), in animal cells, are usually surrounded by a halo called the centrosome. The centrioles are involved in microtubule assembly.

Figure 2 : centrioles. Each centriole consists of nine microtubule triplets.

The material movement within the cell :

Various activities of the cell are orchestrated by micro- filaments and microtubules. During the reproduction of cells eg, is the shortening, by depolymerizing microtubules attached to each of chromosomes, ensuring migration of these towards the poles of the cell undergoing division. In animal cells, this migration is followed by a constriction of the cell at its equator by tightening a belt microfilaments. Muscle cells also use microfilaments, to contract their cytoskeleton.

Responsible for the shape and movement of cells, the cytoskeleton further constitutes a sort of scaffold which positions various enzymes and other macromolecules in particular regions of the cytoplasm. Thus, many enzymes are attached to microfilaments ; it is the same ribosome. Moving and positioning specifically enzymes from each other cytoskeleton contributes, as well as the endoplasmic reticulum, the organization of the cell activities.

intracellular molecular motors :

All eukaryotic cells have to move various materials in their cytoplasm. Most of them use the system of internal membranes as a main transportation route ; Golgi apparatus is packaging materials in vesicles migrate to the ends of the cell. This path is however effective only over short distances. When materials must travel long distances, for example in a nerve cell axon, transport is too slow and it is along microtubules.

Four components are required for this purpose : (1) a vesicle carrying, (2) a motor molecule which ensures the supply of energy required to move, (3) a molecule connecting the bladder to the motor molecule and (4) microtubules in which the vesicle glides like a train on track (figure 3).

Thus, for example kinectin – a protein of ER membranes – fixed vesicles thereof to a motor protein kinesin referred. Like a tiny engine, this protein results in vesicle transport along microtubules towards the periphery of the cell. The energy for kinesin is provided by ATP. This is another set of proteins, the complex of dynactin, providing the transport in the opposite direction, the motor protein being here dynein (see Figure 3) (dynein is also involved in the movement of eukaryotic flagella, described below). The nature of the binding protein contained within the vesicle membrane thus determines the destination of the latter (and content).

Figure 3 : molecular lictors. The transport vesicles in the cell is done by connecting molecules intervention such as complex dynactin shown here ; they secure the bladder to a motor molecule, as dynein, which moves along microtubules.

Movement of cells :

Virtually every cell movements are dependent microfilament movement, microtubules or both. Microfilaments play a major role in determining the shape of the cell (ex : Crawling leukocytes). Since they can s & rsquo; assemble and dissociate easily, they allow some cells to change shape quickly. Intermediate filaments for their function as intracellular tendons, preventing excessive stretching of the cell.

Course of DR AOUATI Amel – Faculty of Constantine

Cytosquelette

0
162

Les trois fibres principales du cytosquelette sont les microfilaments, les microtubules et les filaments intermédiaires. Ces fibres interagissent pour moduler la forme et permettre le déplacement de la cellule ; elles interviennent également dans le transport de matériaux au sein du cytoplasme.

Le cytosol de toutes les cellules eucaryotes est parcourue d’un réseau de fibres protéiques qui assurent la forme de la cellule et y ancrent les organites en des sites définis. Ce réseau, appelé cytosquelette, est un système dynamique, s’assemblant et se désassemblant constamment. Chacune des fibres du cytosquelette se construit par polymérisation, des sous-unités protéiques identiques s’attirant mutuellement et s’assemblant spontanément en longues chaînes. C’est de la même manière que ces fibres se dissocient, leurs sous-unités se libérant les unes après les autres d’une des extrémités de la chaîne.

Le cytosquelette peut comporter trois types de fibres différentes entre elles par leurs sous-unités constitutives :

1- Microfiiaments :

Les microfilaments sont de longues fibres d’un diamètre d’environ 7 nanomètres ; ils sont composés de deux chaînes protéiques entrelacées lâchement comme deux cordons de perles (figure1), chaque perle étant constituée d’une protéine globulaire, l’actine. C’est spontanément que les molécules d’actine s’associent en microfilaments.

La vitesse de polymérisation des molécules d’actine est régulée par d’autres protéines qui fonctionnent comme des commutateurs, enclenchant le processus de polymérisation au moment approprié. Les microfilaments sont responsables de mouvements cellulaires tels que la contraction.

2- Microtubules :

Les microtubules sont des tubes creux d’un diamètre d’environ 25 nanomètres, formés de 13 protofilaments protéiques disposés en couronne (figure 1). Chaque protofilament est formé par la polymérisation de dimères de protéines globulaires constitués d’a et de |B tubuline. Les protofilaments sont disposés côte à côte autour d’un cœur central creux, procurant au microtubule sa forme tubulaire caractéristique. Les micro- tubules prennent souvent naissance dans la région centrale de la cellule, d’où ils irradient vers la périphérie. Ils sont en constant état dynamique de polymérisation et dépolymérisation. La demi-vie moyenne d’un microtubule varie de 20 secondes à 10 minutes dans une cellule animale selon qu’elle est en division ou non. Les extrémités de microtubules proches du centre de nucléation sont désignés « – », celles qui en sont éloignées « + ». Outre leur implication dans la facilitation des mouvements cellulaires, les microtubules sont également responsables du mouvement de matériaux au sein même de la cellule. Des protéines motrices spéciales, déplacent des organites dans la cellule le long de microtubules. Des protéines, les kinésines, transportent les organites vers les extrémités « + » (vers la périphérie) tandis que les dynéines les transportent vers les extrémités « – ».

3- Filaments intermédiaires :

Les composants les plus stables du cytosquelette des cellules animales sont constitués de protéines fibreuses résistantes, entrelacées selon un système d’imbrication particulier (figurel). Les structures qu’elles constituent ont un diamètre de 8 à 10 nanomètres, situé entre celui des microfilaments et celui des microtubules, d’où leur dénomination de filaments intermédiaires. Une fois constitués les filaments intermédiaires sont stables et ne se dissocient pas. Les filaments intermédiaires constituent un groupe hétérogène de fibres du cytosquelette. Le type le plus commun, composé de sous-unités protéiques appelées vimentine, procure la stabilité structurale à de nombreuses cellules. La kératine, une autre classe de filaments intermédiaires, se trouve dans les cellules épithéliales (cellules bordant les organes et les cavités de l’organisme) ainsi que dans des structures qui y sont associées, tels les cheveux et les ongles. Les filaments intermédiaires des cellules nerveuses sont appelés neurofilaments.

Figure 1 : Les molécules constitutives du cytosquelette.

Microfilaments ; constitués de deux brins torsadés constitués chacun d’un chapelet d’une protéine globulaire, l’actine. On trouve des microfilaments un peu partout dans la cellule mais en particulier sous la membrane plasmique où ils sont regroupés en faisceaux dénommés fibres de tension, qui peuvent avoir une fonction contractile. Microtubules : les microtubules sont composés de sous-unités de tubuline, protéines disposées côte à côte pour former un tube. Il s’agit d’éléments relativement rigides du cytosquelette, impliqués dans l’organisation du métabolisme, le transport intracellulaire et la stabilisation de la structure cellulaire. Filaments intermédiaires : les filaments intermédiaires sont composés de tétramères imbriqués et décalés de protéines. Cette disposition confère une force mécanique énorme à la cellule.

Les centrioles, centres d’assemblage des microtubules :

Les centrioles sont des organites cylindriques présents dans les cellules des animaux, ils se présentent en paires, généralement disposés à angle droit l’un , vis-à-vis de l’autre, à proximité du noyau (figure 2), dans les cellules animales, sont le plus souvent entourés d’un halo appelé centrosome. Les centrioles participent à l’assemblage des microtubules.

Figure 2 : Les centrioles. Chaque centriole est composé de neuf triplets de microtubules.

Le déplacement de matériel au sein de la cellule :

Diverses activités de la cellule sont orchestrées par les micro- filaments et les microtubules. Au cours de la reproduction des cellules par exemple, c’est le raccourcissement, par dépolymérisation des microtubules fixés à chacun des chromosomes, qui assure la migration de ceux-ci vers les pôles de la cellule en voie de division. Dans les cellules animales, cette migration est suivie d’un étranglement de la cellule au niveau de son équateur par resserrement d’une ceinture de microfilaments. Les cellules musculaires utilisent également des microfilaments, pour contracter leur cytosquelette.

Responsable de la forme et du mouvement des cellules, le cytosquelette constitue en outre une sorte d’échafaudage qui positionne diverses enzymes et autres macromolécules en des régions particulières du cytoplasme. C’est ainsi que de nombreuses enzymes sont fixées à des microfilaments ; il en est de même des ribosomes. En déplaçant et en positionnant spécifiquement des enzymes les unes par rapport aux autres le cytosquelette contribue donc, de même que le réticulum endoplasmique, à l’organisation des activités de la cellule.

Moteurs moléculaires intracellulaires :

Toutes les cellules eucaryotes doivent déplacer divers matériaux au sein de leur cytoplasme. La plupart d’entre elles utilisent le système de membranes internes comme principale voie de transport ; l’appareil de Golgi empaquette des matériaux dans des vésicules qui migrent jusqu’aux confins de la cellule. Cette voie n’est cependant efficace que sur de courtes distances. Lorsque des matériaux doivent parcourir de longues distances, par exemple dans un axone de cellule nerveuse, le transport y est trop lent et il se fait le long de microtubules.

Quatre composants sont requis à ce effet : (1) une vésicule à transporter, (2) une molécule motrice qui assure l’apport en énergie nécessaire au déplacement, (3) une molécule connectant la vésicule à la molécule motrice et (4) des microtubules sur lesquels la vésicule glisse comme un train sur ses rails (figure 3).

C’est ainsi par exemple que la kinectine – une protéine des membranes du RE – fixe les vésicules de celui-ci à une protéine motrice dénommée kinésine. Comme un minuscule moteur, cette protéine entraîne la vésicule de transport le long des microtubules en direction de la périphérie de la cellule. L’énergie nécessaire à la kinésine est fournie par l’ATP. C’est un autre jeu de protéines, le complexe de la dynactine, qui assure le transport dans la direction opposée, la protéine motrice étant ici la dynéine (voir figure 3) (la dynéine est également impliquée dans le mouvement des flagelles d’eucaryotes, décrit plus loin). La nature de la protéine de fixation contenue dans la membrane de la vésicule détermine donc la destination de cette dernière (et son contenu).

Figure 3 : licteurs moléculaires. Le transport de vésicules dans la cellule se fait par l’intervention de molécules de connexion telles que le complexe de dynactine montré ici ; celles-ci fixent la vésicule à une molécule motrice, telle que la dynéine, qui se déplace le long de microtubules.

Déplacements des cellules :

Pratiquement tous les mouvements cellulaires sont dépendants du mouvement de microfilaments, de microtubules ou des deux à la fois. Les microfilaments jouent un rôle majeur dans la détermination de la forme de la cellule (ex : La reptation des leucocytes). Puisque ils peuvent s’assembler et se dissocier facilement, ils permettent à certaines cellules de changer rapidement de forme. Les filaments intermédiaires quant à eux fonctionnent comme des tendons intracellulaires, empêchant un étirement excessif de la cellule.

Cours du DR AOUATI Amel – Faculté de Constantine

LAISSER UN COMMENTAIRE

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here