Melanoma

0
7327

introducedon :

  • Melanoma is a malignant tumor developed at the expense of the melanocytes (melanocytes which are arranged in the normal state of isolation between keratinocytes of the dermo- epidermal are responsible for producing a pigment for protecting the skin vis-à-vis the ultraviolet radiation : melanin, they have a ubiquitous distribution : cutaneous, mucous, retinal)
  • Sun exposure, clear skin type and the presence of large numbers of nevi are recognized risk factors
  • Its diagnosis is based on clinical, helped by dermoscopy and confirmed by histology
  • Early diagnosis and proper removal are key to the prognosis in the primary stage
  • Prognostic markers are especially histological
  • Prevention is based on changing risk behaviors, early detection and resection of suspicious lesions

Épidémiologie :

  • Incidence : doubles every 10 years in countries with white population living in sunny area, in most European countries, the incidence is estimated to 5-10 new cases / 100,000 inhabitants / a. This incidence peaked (40 new cases / 100,000 / year) among whites in Australia, while it is very low in countries where the subjects are black or yellow
  • Age from survenu : This is a tumor that affects all ages, outside of the child, at which melanoma is exceptional
  • Sex-ratio : female
  • In Algeria : a retrospective study 1985 at 1995 from 116 patients showed : higher incidence in Western countries (53.17%),  age :  40-50  years (33.80%),  sex :  55.70%  women,  nodular appearance (74.31%), seat : legs (55.70%), terrain : again (82.07%), consultation is late, Clark level : V (47.91%)
  • Melanoma mortality is high hence the importance of early diagnosis and effective surgical treatment for better prognosis
  • factors etiological : Melanoma occurs due to the interaction between individual susceptibility factors and environmental factors

factors individual :

  • Phototype : the sensitivity of the skin to sunlight is defined by the phototype. The light-skinned and blond hair and especially red are the most sensitive to the sun (phototype I/II), the more the subject is clear (no or very little melanin pigments) more likely it is UV radiation. The peak incidence of melanoma occurs in the redhead
  • phenotype naevique : that is to say the number, the size and appearance of nevus

Syndrome of nevus atypical : particular form, defined by the presence in large numbers of nevi (> 50), often large (> 6 mm), with atypical aspects (irregular edges, polychrome). These subjects will be carefully monitored because of the risk of developing melanoma

nevus congenital giant : exists at birth, it covers a part of the body of the newborn or his entire body

Postman familial : about 10% melanomas occur within a context of "familial melanoma",  defined as at least 2 generations of 3 melanoma,  prompting the identification of the family susceptibility gene melanoma

factors environment (sun exposure) : the sun is the only environmental factor involved in the epidemiology of melanoma. On distingue :

  • Exposition acute intermittent : like sunburn during childhood, is complicated melanoma in young adults,  it appears on the areas concerned by sunburn (From, shoulder, leg)
  • Exposition chronic and progressive : melanoma in the elderly, Melanoma develops on areas continuously exposed to the sun (cephalic end : melanoma lentigo)
  • Melanomas palms, plants and mucous membranes are not directly related to sun exposure

Other factors :

  • Immunodépression : promotes melanoma occurrence (kidney transplant, treatment with cytotoxic immunosuppressive ...)
  • Troubles from the repair from l’ADN : as in the Xeroderma pigmentosum, is accompanied by a high risk (x 1000)

➢ So, melanoma risk markers :

  • family and personal history (The same causes produce the same effects) melanoma
  • light colored skin and hair, especially the red marker with freckles, hair blond roux
  • High number of nevi, the risk increases with the number of nevi and atypical nevus syndrome represents the extreme of naevique phenotype at risk
  • History of intense sun exposure during leisure with sunburn
  • precursors : the majority of melanomas originate from new, skin, apparently, healthy without precursor, the risk of malignant transformation of small common nevus is very low, the congenital nevi have a higher risk of transformation if they are large (> 20 cm), they are few and, Therefore, do not cause the occurrence very little melanoma. There is no interest in the single common systematic preventive excision of nevi resection for early prevention of major congenital nevus is desirable

Diagnostic positive :

  • The diagnosis of melanoma, suspected clinically by inspection, sometimes assisted by a dermatoscope is confirmed by pathological examination, which also determines the initial therapeutic decision and assessment of prognosis
  • Suspicion : iS clinical

Rule ABCDE :

  • A : Asymmetric
  • B : Ragged edges, often notched or polycyclic
  • C : inhomogeneous color (brown, noir, brown or blue, depigmented areas, halo inflammatory)
  • D : Diameter > 6 cm
  • E : ongoing development, documented (extension in size, in shape, embossed, in color)

➢ An itching or bleeding in contact are also possible when the tumor progresses

➢ A different lesion other nevi of the subject (sign of the "ugly duckling") is suspicious

➢ Any suspicious melanoma lesion should be excised for histopathological examination

  • Diagnostic : is histological, only histological analysis to confirm the diagnosis of melanoma, it must be performed on a piece of complete resection carrying lesion in its entirety as well as the banks

Histogenèse of melanoma : takes place on a biphasic :

  • In a first phase, the extension is horizontal intraepidermal, above the basal membrane
  • In a second phase, the extension is vertical, with invasion of the superficial dermis (phase micro-invasive) then the deep dermis and hypodermis (phase invasive). Melanoma therefore, in good standing :

component intraepidermal : made of melanocytes that form a sheet or thecal irregularly arranged along the basal, associated with an invasion of the superficial layers of the epidermis by tumor cells migrating in isolation and uncontrollably

component   dermal :   invasive,   sometimes associated with an inflammatory reaction

➢ Histological examination enables :

  • To affirm the nature melanocytic from the tumor : melanin pigment, disposition, immunohistochimie…
  • To affirm the malignancy from the tumor : a number of architectural and cytological criteria for the proposition malignancy of the lesion, c & rsquo; is to say,, to distinguish between nevi and melanoma : architectural disorder, presence of atypia nucleo-cytoplasmic, d’images mitotiques, vascular emboli, a neurotrophic extension or loss of morphological gradient usually observed in nevi of the surface to the depth

➢ The pathological report should specify, for each lesion, a number of parameters that :

  • To estimate prognosis :

Indice de BreslowIndex from Breslow : it represents the measurement in millimeters, under an optical microscope, of the maximum thickness of the granular layer of the epidermis and above the deepest melanoma malignant cell. Melanomas which do not invade the dermis are not measured and are called " in situ », and there is an almost linear correlation between tumor thickness and the average time of survival

  • Specify the completeness or not of excision

Exam dermatoscopique (epiluminescence) : is a non-invasive complementary examination method that uses a symptomatology its own, based image analysis observed a whole and facilitates the differential diagnosis but dependent operator and be subject to pitfalls

Classification anatomopathologique :

On distingue 4 major types of melanoma, according to their clinical and histopathological appearance and their mode of progression

  • Melanoma Superficial Extensive (SSM : Superficial Spreading Melanoma) : represented 60-70% melanoma, it is in the form of a pigmented macule may secondarily take terrain with appearance of a nodular component. This seat melanoma most commonly the lower limb in women and back in men. The horizontal growth phase above, in general, vertical phase of several months
  • Melanoma nodular : represented 10-20% melanoma, it appears from the outset as a nodule and is growing rapidly. Its development is at once vertical (without horizontal phase) and metastatic risk is important, so it leaves little time for screening a thin stage (poor prognosis)
  • Melanoma from Freckle (lentigo malin) : which represents 5-10% melanoma, he sits, predilection, on sun-exposed areas (face, neckline, forearm) and occurs in the elderly. The clinical appearance is that of a macula and a pigmented web, which has a horizontal development for months and years, thus leaving plenty of time for dermal excision before invasion
  • Melanoma acral lentigineux (acrolentigineux) : which represents 2-10% melanoma in the subject white and up 60% melanoma in the black patient. The clinical appearance is that of a pigmented macule who sits in a privileged manner at the ends (palms, plants, fingers, toes), horizontal growth phase is generally very slow and leaves a lot of time for a removal before dermal invasion

shapes clinics special :

  • Melanoma of the mucous : it represents 5% of all melanomas, it's about, in general, Late diagnosis of melanoma and poor prognosis, and more so that the tumor probably faster access to a lymph drainage (vulvar melanoma, melanoma of the nasal cavities, anorectal melanoma ...)
  • Melanoma from l & rsquo; child : it is exceptional and its diagnosis is difficult, indeed, false melanoma diagnoses correspond,  in fact,  Adaptable inflammatory nevus. Melanomas of the child most often occur again, Congenital melanomas are exceptional
  • Melanoma achromique : these melanomas that are not pigmented are generally in the form of a pink or red lesion, their diagnosis is difficult because they can simulate a number of lesions (basal cell carcinoma, botryomycome…). Their prognosis is usually grim : firstly because of frequent late diagnosis, secondly because they are readily forms nodular rapid growth
  • Melanoma nail : belongs to the group of melanomas acrolentigineux, which has the same epidemiological and prognostic features. preferential seat : big toe or thumb, aspect : brown or black macula in the nail bed and under the nail fold (Hutchinson's sign), band mélanonychique,  longitudinal acquired,  nail dystrophy,  matrix destruction,  ulcerated tumor, hence the importance of biopsy

Diagnostic differential :

He must rule out other black tumors are much more common than melanoma

  • Tumors melanocytic : Clinically atypical nevi have aspects sometimes the criteria beginners melanoma, freckles ...
  • Tumors nonmelanocytic : on distingue :

Kératoses  seborrheic :  usually multiple lesions,  sitting on the seborrheic areas of the face and trunk, the clinical aspect is yellowish lesions, brown or black frankly, the warty surface and screened keratotic plugs (lesions placed on the skin). The differential diagnosis with melanoma is usually easy, dermoscopy makes it easy to rectify the diagnosis in difficult cases

Carcinoma basal cell tattooed : it can be confused with a SSM or a nodular melanoma, the beaded appearance of the lesion or the presence of telangiectasia can guide the diagnosis, dermoscopy may also be useful

Histiocytofibrome pigmented : nodular lesions, strictly intradermal, can be pigmented, palpation of these lesions is quite characteristic (indurated pellet) usually allows correct diagnosis

Hémangiome :  it can take a bluish or black when irritated or thrombosed, dermoscopy is also characteristic

Botryomycome : it may pose a diagnostic problem with nodular melanoma amelanotic, its occurrence after trauma may help diagnosis

Hematoma undernail : it is usually easy to distinguish from melanoma in- nail. When in doubt,  resection should be made to have a histological confirmation of the exact nature of the injury

Fibroma mou (molluscum pendulome)

ISevolution :

  • The usual spontaneous evolution is marked by local invasion with a possible extension to the adjacent skin or remotely, to regional lymph nodes and metastases, usually multiple (soft tissue, lung, foie, brain, the…)
  • The majority of metastases occurs between 2 and 5 years after treatment of primary tumor

criteria clinics and histopathological of prognosis (poor prognostic factors)

  • Occurrence of melanoma in later life
  • Occurrence of melanoma in humans (male)
  • Location of the cephalic melanoma and melanoma of mucous membranes have a poor prognosis (because of early node-positive)
  • Type anatomoclinique (nodular melanoma has a poor prognosis)
  • Existence of ulceration (clinical or histopathological)
  • Existence of a nodal
  • Existence of metastases and their number
  • The main prognostic factor independent of melanoma all other factors : tumor thickness (indice Breslow) with an almost linear correlation between thickness and mortality

Traitement :

  • Outside of surgical treatment which can be, in some cases, a cure, other treatments are palliative
  • The goal of treatment is to ensure the longest possible survival and avoid locoregional recurrence and cutaneous metastases, lymph node and visceral

Surgical : surgical excision must be early, stage non-invasive, allows for healing

  • At the stage of lymph node involvement or metastases, Treatment will involve surgical removal of the melanoma followed by resection of metastases when possible

Chemotherapy : various drugs and protocols are used but melanoma remains insensitive to chemotherapy

Radiotherapy : finds use in the event of node or metastatic disease

biotherapy and vaccination antitumor : appear to be promising ways

Prévention :

  • Prevention primary (risk reduction) : through informing the population about the risk associated with sun exposure and the reduction of these exposures (limiting exposure to strong sunlight hours more,  protective clothing and repeated use photo- external protective), it is intended primarily for children but is important at all ages, so there is no interest in the systematic preventive excision common nevus, only early preventive excision of large congenital nevus is desirable
  • Prevention secondary (screening) : must be early to improve prognosis, indeed, plus one melanoma is detected late, the greater the risk of invasive (vertical phase) and metastasize. Physicians should consider the integument know their patients in its entirety and should identify suspicious pigmented lesions, the general public should know the warning signs that should prompt visit, high-risk families should be given special medical supervision, risk subjects should be informed and subjects at very high risk (first melanoma,  atypical nevus syndrome)  must have a specific healthcare monitoring (photographic, dermatoscopique)

Conclusion :

  • Melanoma is an aggressive tumor, the significant metastatic potential, so the incidence is increasing
  • The wide surgical resection at an early stage is the only potentially curative treatment since the metastatic potential is important and no therapy is currently effective at this stage
  • The major prognostic factor is constituted by the Breslow
  • Patient information (to change the solar risky behavior) and detection of suspicious lesions are the basis for the prevention

Mélanome

0
7161

Introduction :

  • Le mélanome est une tumeur maligne développée aux dépens des mélanocytes (les mélanocytes qui se disposent à l’état normal de manière isolée entre les kératinocytes  de la jonction dermo- épidermique  sont  chargés  de fabriquer un  pigment destiné à  protéger la  peau  vis-à-vis  des rayonnements ultraviolets : la mélanine, ils ont une distribution ubiquitaire : cutanée, muqueuse, rétinienne)
  • L’exposition solaire, le phototype clair et la présence d’un grand nombre de nævus sont des facteurs de risque reconnus
  • Son diagnostic repose sur la clinique, aidé par la dermatoscopie et confirmé par l’histologie
  • Le diagnostic précoce et l’exérèse correcte sont les clés du pronostic au stade primaire
  • Les marqueurs pronostiques sont surtout histologiques
  • La prévention repose sur la modification des comportements à risque, le dépistage précoce et l’exérèse des lésions suspectes

Épidémiologie :

  • Incidence : double environ tous les 10 ans dans les pays à population blanche vivant en zone ensoleillée, dans la plupart des pays d’Europe, on estime l’incidence à 5-10 nouveaux cas/100.000 habitants/un. Cette incidence atteint des sommets (40 nouveaux cas/100.000 habitants/an) chez les blancs en Australie, alors qu’elle est très faible dans les pays où les sujets sont noirs ou jaunes
  • Âge de survenu : c’est une tumeur qui touche tous les âges, en-dehors de l’enfant, chez qui le mélanome est exceptionnel
  • Sex-ratio : prédominance féminine
  • En Algérie : une étude rétrospective de 1985 à 1995 de 116 malades a montré : incidence plus élevée à  l’ouest  du  pays  (53.17%),  âge :  40-50  ans  (33.80%),  sexe :  55.70%  des  femmes,  aspect nodulaire (74.31%), siège : membres inférieurs (55.70%), terrain : de novo (82.07%), la consultation est tardive, niveau de Clark : V (47.91%)
  • La mortalité par mélanome est élevée d’où l’intérêt d’un diagnostic précoce et un traitement chirurgical efficace pour améliorer le pronostic
  • Facteurs étiologiques : le mélanome apparaît suite à l’interaction entre facteurs de prédisposition individuels et facteurs d’environnement

Facteurs individuels :

  • Phototype : la sensibilité de la peau au soleil est définie par le phototype. Les sujets à peau claire et à cheveux blonds et surtout roux sont les plus sensibles au soleil (phototype I/II), plus le sujet est clair (pas ou très peu de pigments mélaniques) plus il est susceptible aux radiations UV. Le pic d’incidence du mélanome s’observe chez le rouquin
  • Phénotype naevique : c’est-à-dire le nombre, la taille et l’aspect des nævus

Syndrome du nævus atypique : forme particulière, défini par la présence en grand nombre de nævus (> 50), souvent de grande taille (> 6 mm de diamètre), ayant des aspects atypiques (bords irréguliers, polychromie). Ces sujets feront l’objet d’une surveillance rigoureuse à cause du risque élevé de l’apparition d’un mélanome

Nævus congénital géant : existe à la naissance, il couvre une partie du corps du nouveau-né ou bien la totalité de son corps

Facteur familial : environ 10% des mélanomes surviennent dans un contexte de « mélanome familial »,  défini  comme  au  moins  2  mélanome  sur  3  générations,  ce  qui  incite  à l’identification du gène de prédisposition familiale au mélanome

Facteurs d’environnement (exposition solaire) : le soleil est le seul facteur d’environnement impliqué dans l’épidémiologie du mélanome. On distingue :

  • Exposition aigüe intermittente : type coups de soleil  au  cours de l’enfance, se complique  de  mélanome  de  l’adulte  jeune,  ce  dernier  apparaît  sur  les  zones intéressées par le coup de soleil (dos, épaule, jambe)
  • Exposition chronique et progressive : mélanome chez le sujet âgé, le mélanome se développe sur les zones continuellement exposées au soleil (extrémité céphalique : mélanome Dubreuilh)
  • Les mélanomes des paumes, des plantes et des muqueuses ne sont pas directement liés aux expositions solaires

Autres facteurs :

  • Immunodépression : favorise la survenue de mélanome (greffe rénale, traitement par des immunosuppresseurs cytotoxiques…)
  • Troubles de la réparation de l’ADN : comme dans la Xeroderma pigmentosum, s’accompagne d’un risque élevé (x 1000)

➢ Donc, les marqueurs de risque du mélanome :

  • Antécédents familiaux et personnels (les mêmes causes produisent les mêmes effets) de mélanome
  • Couleur claire de la peau et des cheveux et en particulier le marqueur roux avec des éphélides, cheveux roux blond
  • Nombre élevé de nævus, le risque augmente avec le nombre de nævus et le syndrome du nævus atypique représente l’extrême du phénotype naevique à risque
  • Antécédents d’expositions solaires intenses au cours des loisirs avec coups de soleil
  • Précurseurs : la majorité des mélanomes naissent de novo, en peau, apparemment, saine sans précurseur, le risque de transformation maligne des petits nævus communs est très faible, les nævus congénitaux ont un risque de transformation plus élevé s’ils sont de grande taille (> 20 cm), ils sont rares et, par conséquent, n’occasionnent la survenue que de très peu de mélanomes. Il n’y a aucun intérêt à faire l’exérèse systématique préventive des nævus communs seule l’exérèse préventive précoce des grands nævus congénitaux est souhaitable

Diagnostic positif :

  • Le diagnostic du mélanome, suspecté cliniquement par l’inspection, parfois aidée d’un dermatoscope est affirmé par l’examen anatomopathologique qui conditionne également la décision thérapeutique initiale et l’évaluation du pronostic
  • Suspicion : est clinique

Règle ABCDE :

  • A : Asymétrique
  • B : Bords irréguliers, souvent encochés ou polycycliques
  • C : Couleur inhomogène (brun, noir, marron ou bleu, zones dépigmentées, halo inflammatoire)
  • D : Diamètre > 6 cm
  • E : Évolution permanente, documentée (extension en taille, en forme, en relief, en couleur)

➢ Un prurit ou un saignement au contact sont également possibles quand la tumeur progresse

➢ Une lésion différente des autres nævus du sujet (signe du « vilain petit canard ») est suspecte

➢ Toute lésion suspecte de mélanome doit être excisée en vue d’un examen histopathologique

  • Diagnostic : est histologique, seule l’analyse histologique permet de confirmer le diagnostic de mélanome, celle-ci doit être réalisée sur une pièce d’exérèse complète emportant lésion dans sa totalité ainsi que les berges

Histogenèse du mélanome : se déroule sur un mode biphasique :

  • Dans une première phase, l’extension est horizontale intra-épidermique, au-dessus de la membrane basale
  • Dans une seconde phase, l’extension est verticale, avec envahissement du derme superficiel (phase micro-invasive) puis du derme profond et de l’hypoderme (phase invasive). Le mélanome a donc, en règle :

Composante intraépidermique : faite de mélanocytes qui constituent une nappe ou des thèques disposées irrégulièrement le long de la basale, associée à un envahissement des couches superficielles de l’épiderme par des cellules tumorales migrant de façon isolée et anarchique

Composante   dermique :   invasive,   parfois   associée   à   une   réaction inflammatoire

➢ L’examen histologique permet :

  • D’affirmer la nature mélanocytaire de la tumeur : pigment mélanique, disposition, immunohistochimie…
  • D’affirmer la malignité de la tumeur : un certain nombre de critères architecturaux et cytologiques permettent d’affirmer la malignité de la lésion, c’est-à-dire, de faire la distinction entre nævus et mélanome : désordre architectural, présence d’atypies nucléo-cytoplasmiques, d’images mitotiques, d’emboles vasculaires, d’une extension neurotrope ou la perte du gradient morphologique habituellement observé dans les nævus de la superficie vers la profondeur

➢ Le compte-rendu anatomopathologique doit préciser, pour chaque lésion, un certain nombre de paramètres qui permettent :

  • D’estimer un pronostic :

Indice de BreslowIndice de Breslow : elle représente la mesure en millimètres, au microscope optique, de l’épaisseur maximale comprise entre la couche granuleuse de l’épiderme en haut et la cellule mélanique maligne la plus profonde.  Les  mélanomes  qui n’envahissent pas le derme ne se mesurent pas et sont dits « in situ », et il existe une corrélation quasi-linéaire  entre  l’épaisseur tumorale et le délai moyen de survie

  • De préciser le caractère complet ou non de l’exérèse

Examen dermatoscopique (épiluminescence) : est une méthode d’examen complémentaire non-invasive qui utilise une sémiologie qui lui est propre, reposant sur l’analyse de l’image observée dans son ensemble et facilite le diagnostic différentiel mais opérateur-dépendant et être soumise aux pièges

Classification anatomopathologique :

On distingue 4 grands types de mélanomes, en fonction de leur aspect clinique et histopathologique et de leur mode de progression

  • Mélanome Superficiel Extensif (SSM : Superficial Spreading Melanoma) : représente 60-70% des mélanomes, il se présente sous la forme d’une macule pigmentée qui peut secondairement prendre du relief avec apparition d’une composante nodulaire. Ce mélanome siège le plus fréquemment au membre inférieur chez la femme et dans le dos chez l’homme. La phase de croissance horizontale précède, en général, la phase verticale de plusieurs mois
  • Mélanome nodulaire : représente 10-20% des mélanomes, il se présente d’emblée sous la forme d’un nodule et sa croissance est rapide. Son développement est d’emblée vertical (sans phase horizontale) et le risque métastatique est important, il laisse donc peu de temps pour un dépistage à un stade peu épais (mauvais pronostic)
  • Mélanome de Dubreuilh (lentigo malin) : qui représente 5-10% des mélanomes, il siège, avec prédilection, sur les zones photo-exposées (visage, décolleté, avant-bras) et survient chez le sujet âgé. L’aspect clinique est celui d’une macule puis d’une nappe pigmentée, qui a une évolution horizontale pendant des mois et des années, ce qui laisse donc beaucoup de temps pour une exérèse avant envahissement dermique
  • Mélanome acral lentigineux (acrolentigineux) : qui représente 2-10% des mélanomes chez le sujet de race blanche et jusqu’à 60% des mélanomes chez le sujet de race noire. L’aspect clinique est celui d’une macule pigmentée qui siège de façon privilégiée au niveau des extrémités (paumes, plantes, doigts, orteils), la phase de croissance horizontale est généralement très lente et laisse beaucoup de temps pour une exérèse avant envahissement dermique

Formes cliniques particulières :

  • Mélanome des muqueuses : il représente 5% de l’ensemble des mélanomes, il s’agit, en général, de mélanomes de diagnostic tardif et de mauvais pronostic, et ce d’autant plus que la tumeur a probablement un accès plus rapide à un drainage ganglionnaire (mélanome vulvaire, mélanome des fosses nasales, mélanome anorectal…)
  • Mélanome de l’enfant : il reste exceptionnel et son diagnostic est difficile, en effet, de faux diagnostics  de  mélanome  correspondent,  en  fait,  à  des  nævus  évolutifs  inflammatoires.  Les mélanomes de l’enfant surviennent le plus souvent de novo, les mélanomes congénitaux restent exceptionnels
  • Mélanome achromique : ces mélanomes qui ne sont pas pigmentés se présentent généralement sous la forme d’une lésion rose ou rouge, leur diagnostic est difficile car ils peuvent simuler un certain nombre de lésions (carcinome basocellulaire, botryomycome…). Leur pronostic est en général sombre : d’une part en raison d’un fréquent retard diagnostique, d’autre part parce que ce sont volontiers des formes nodulaires à croissance rapide
  • Mélanome unguéal : appartient au groupe des mélanomes acrolentigineux, qui a les mêmes caractéristiques épidémiologiques et pronostiques. Siège préférentiel : gros orteil ou pouce, aspect : macule brune ou noire au lit de l’ongle et du repli sous-unguéal (signe de Hutchinson), bande mélanonychique,  longitudinale  acquise,  dystrophie  unguéale,  destruction  matricielle,  tumeur ulcérée, d’où l’intérêt de la biopsie

Diagnostic différentiel :

Il doit écarter les autres tumeurs noires qui sont beaucoup plus fréquentes que le mélanome

  • Tumeurs mélanocytaires : les nævus cliniquement atypiques ont des aspects répondant parfois aux critères des mélanomes débutants, éphélides…
  • Tumeurs nonmélanocytaires : on distingue :

Kératoses  séborrhéiques :  lésions  habituellement  multiples,  siégeant  sur  les  zones séborrhéiques du visage et du tronc, l’aspect clinique est celui de lésions jaunâtres, brunes ou franchement noires, à la surface verruqueuse et criblée de bouchons kératosiques (lésions posées sur la peau). Le diagnostic différentiel avec un mélanome est habituellement facile, la dermatoscopie permet aisément de redresser le diagnostic dans les cas difficiles

Carcinome basocellulaire tatoué : il peut prêter à confusion avec un SSM ou avec un mélanome nodulaire, l’aspect perlé de la lésion ou la présence de télangiectasies peuvent orienter le diagnostic, la dermatoscopie peut également s’avérer utile

Histiocytofibrome pigmenté : lésions nodulaires, strictement intradermiques, pouvant être pigmentées, la palpation de ces lésions qui est assez caractéristique (pastille indurée) permet en général de redresser le diagnostic

Hémangiome :  il  peut prendre  une  coloration  bleutée  ou  noire  lorsqu’il  est  irrité ou thrombosé, la dermatoscopie est là aussi caractéristique

Botryomycome : il peut poser un problème diagnostique avec un mélanome nodulaire achromique, sa survenue après traumatisme peut aider le diagnostic

Hématome sousunguéal : il est généralement facile à différencier d’un mélanome sous- unguéal.  Au  moindre  doute,  l’exérèse  doit  être  faite  afin  d’avoir  une  confirmation histologique de la nature exacte de la lésion

Fibrome mou (molluscum pendulome)

Évolution :

  • L’évolution spontanée habituelle est marquée par un envahissement local avec extension possible à la peau adjacente ou à distance, aux ganglions régionaux et apparition de métastases, habituellement multiples (tissus mous, poumon, foie, cerveau, os…)
  • La majorité des métastases survient entre 2 et 5 ans après le traitement de la tumeur primitive

Critères cliniques et histopathologiques du pronostic (facteurs de mauvais pronostic)

  • Survenue du mélanome à un âge avancé
  • Survenue du mélanome chez l’homme (sexe masculin)
  • Localisation du mélanome céphalique et le mélanome des muqueuses sont de mauvais pronostic (à cause de l’envahissement ganglionnaire précoce)
  • Type anatomoclinique (le mélanome nodulaire est de mauvais pronostic)
  • Existence d’une ulcération (clinique ou histopathologique)
  • Existence d’un envahissement ganglionnaire
  • Existence de métastases et leur nombre
  • Le principal facteur pronostique du mélanome indépendant de tous les autres facteurs : épaisseur tumorale (indice de Breslow) avec une corrélation presque linéaire entre épaisseur et mortalité

Traitement :

  • En-dehors du traitement chirurgical qui peut constituer, dans certains cas, un traitement curatif, les autres traitements restent palliatifs
  • Le but  du  traitement  est  d’assurer  une  survie  la  longue  possible  et  d’éviter  les  récidives locorégionales et les métastases cutanées, ganglionnaires et viscérales

Chirurgical : l’exérèse chirurgicale doit être précoce, au stade non-invasif, car permet la guérison

  • Au stade d’envahissement ganglionnaire ou de métastases, le traitement fera appel à l’exérèse chirurgicale du mélanome suivie de l’exérèse des métastases lorsque cela est possible

Chimiothérapie : divers drogues et protocoles sont utilisés mais le mélanome reste peu sensible à la chimiothérapie

Radiothérapie : trouve son utilité en cas d’atteinte ganglionnaire ou métastatique

Biothérapie et vaccination antitumorale : semblent être des voies prometteuses

Prévention :

  • Prévention primaire (réduction des risques) : passe par l’information des populations quant au risque lié aux expositions solaires et par la réduction de ces expositions (limitation des expositions aux  heures de  plus fort  ensoleillement,  protection  vestimentaire  et usage  répété de  photo- protecteurs externes), elle s’adresse en priorité aux enfants mais reste importante à tous les âges de la vie, il n’y a donc aucun intérêt à faire l’exérèse systématique préventive des nævus communs, seule l’exérèse préventive précoce des grands nævus congénitaux est souhaitable
  • Prévention secondaire (dépistage) : doit être précoce pour améliorer le pronostic, en effet, plus un mélanome est dépisté tardivement, plus il a de risque d’être invasif (phase verticale) et de donner des métastases. Les médecins doivent savoir examiner le tégument de leurs patients dans son intégralité et doivent repérer les lésions pigmentées suspectes, la population générale doit connaître les signes d’appel qui doivent inciter à consulter, les familles à haut risque doivent faire l’objet d’une surveillance médicale particulière, les sujets à risque doivent être informés et les sujets à très haut risque  (premier  mélanome,  syndrome  du  nævus  atypique)  doivent  avoir  un  suivi  médicalisé spécifique (photographique, dermatoscopique)

Conclusion :

  • Le mélanome est une tumeur agressive, au potentiel métastatique important, donc l’incidence est en augmentation
  • L’exérèse chirurgicale large à un stade précoce est le seul traitement potentiellement curatif puisque le potentiel métastatique est important et qu’aucune thérapeutique n’est actuellement efficace à ce stade
  • Le principal facteur pronostique est constitué par l’indice de Breslow
  • L’information des patients (afin de modifier les comportements solaires à risque) et le dépistage des lésions suspectes constituent la base de la prévention