oaths

1
5378

I- INTRODUCTION :

L.a medicine in its simplest definition is a science that is aimed at the conservation and recovery of health.

Since the & rsquo; antiquity, all companies have had to face health problems that led to the formation of groups of healers and developing codes of conduct to govern the treatment provided.

The oaths sworn by doctors and codes of ethics are evolving in parallel with the emergence of new medical treatments and new social challenges.

II- OATHS THROUGH L & rsquo; HISTORY :

Medicine has crossed in the history of mankind, three phases:

A- The medical primitive magic :

The sorcerer or healer "medicine primeval". has a presumed magic power held d & rsquo; a supernatural power. This power was indisputable. He focused ethics and deontology confused, and drew absolute power.

B- archaic medicine :

Born of & rsquo; evolution of primitive medicine. It has made considerable progress over the Hindu civilizations, Chinese, Egyptian, Mesopotamian, Greek, Empire Ottoman and the early & rsquo; Europe pre-- Renaissance.

A new momentum of medicine, based on integrating clinical and therapeutic management of the human body.

corresponds to the emergence of a first moral code for the practice of the medical profession.

**King Hammurabi (Eighteenth century BC J-C) is the ancestor of a scale of personal injury, ii highlights one of the first characteristic of the medical profession : personal responsibility. He had engraved in stone at the & rsquo; for its successors : "A doctor flees a serious injury to someone & rsquo; one with the knife and kills, a doctor opens a tumor with a scalpel and the die & rsquo; s eye, he will have their hands cut off. »

** HIPPOCRATES OF COS (460-377 J-C) was the first to lay the foundation for medical ethics, the terms and principles are now included in the Western schools in the form of oath. Hippocrates, the oldest known physician and surgeon, the father of medicine lived in Greece for the & rsquo; antiquity.

Medical students recite the oath of & rsquo; Hippocrates. An extremely ancient ritual, that engages the future doctor to practice his art in accordance with all legal and ethical requirements related to it.

An oath which also marks the transition from the status of & rsquo; student to doctor.

OATH OF HIPPOCRATES :

– I swear by Apollo the physician, pair Esculape, Hygeia and Panacea, by all the gods and all the goddesses, and I take to witness that, the extent of my strength and my knowledge, I will respect the oath and the & rsquo; written commitment following :

My master in medicine, I'll put the same level as my parents. I will share my have with him, and s necessary I will provide for their needs. I will consider his children as my brothers and & rsquo; they want to study medicine, I teach them without fee and covenant;. I will pass on the precepts, explanations and other parts of the & rsquo; teaching my children, those of my Master, enrolled students and having read the oath in medical law, but no other.

Whenever my strength and my knowledge, I will advise the patients life diet can relieve and I & rsquo; d & rsquo turn away; they all that can be against them, or harmful. I will never poison, even if you ask me, and I would not reccomend going to d & rsquo; use them. I will not hand d & rsquo; ovules abortive women. I will pass my life and practice my art in purity and compliance with laws. I do not prune them the calculation, but will leave this operation to practitioners s & rsquo; to occupy. In every house where I will be called, I don & rsquo; will enter only for the good of the sick. I m & rsquo; d & rsquo forbid, be intentionally cause harm or corruption, and any undertaking to voluptuous & rsquo; against women or men, free or slaves. All I see or hear around me, in & rsquo; exercise my art or out of my ministry, and which shall not be disclosed, I will be silent and take it as a secret.

If I respect my oath without the & rsquo; break, may I enjoy life and my profession, and be honored forever among your men. But if I violate and become perjury, that & rsquo; an adverse fate m & rsquo; arrives ! »

Each paragraph of text ee represents a clear moral :

  • A solemn commitment to God with all the & rsquo; attendance of witnesses ;
  • The recognition of having benefited from & rsquo; know and appreciate the true value ;
  • The commitment to respect this knowledge, to advance, to transmit ;
  • Commitment to patients to make available for the benefit of medicine, d & rsquo; have exemplary conduct ;
  • D & rsquo; have an intellectual honesty and mastery of impulses ;
  • L & rsquo; obligation of professional secrecy.

**PRAYER MAIMONIDES whose real name is Moses Ben Maimon – Dynasty Maimonides – (1135-1204j or Abu Omran bin Meimoune elkortobi Arabic, was the & rsquo; one of the most representative of doctors & rsquo; humanism and Arab medicine. Addressing the ethical problems of the medical profession, he wrote and fixed for posterity prayer so stated :

– O God, filled my soul d & rsquo; love for the & rsquo; art and for all creatures. N & rsquo; not admit that the thirst for gain and seeking fame m & rsquo; influence in & rsquo; exercise my art, because the enemies of truth and the & rsquo; love of men could easily m & rsquo; abuse and m & rsquo; away from the noble duty undo good to your children.

– Supports the strength of my heart for that & rsquo; he is always near to serve the poor and the rich, l & rsquo; & rsquo and friend, enemy, the good and the bad. Make me see that & rsquo; man in the sufferer…

" Lend me, my God, l & rsquo; indulgence and patience with the stubborn and rude sick. Make me moderate all, but in my insatiable love of science. Remove from me the & rsquo; any idea that I can. Give me strength, the will and the & rsquo; & rsquo opportunity; expand more my knowledge. I can now discover in my knowledge of things I do not suspect yesterday, because l & rsquo; art is great but the & rsquo; s mind & rsquo; man ever entered before. »

The Maimonides oath differs from that of & rsquo; Hippocrates by a deep personal commitment. It is a true prayer which recalls with particular sensitivity that the doctor is d & rsquo; first a man with weaknesses and highlights the fragility of knowledge.

** OATH Mohamed Ech-Cherif Essakali Tunisian doctor of the fourteenth century, states in his text as d & rsquo; final recommendations to young doctors, warns them in the following terms :

" Thing, 6 my child that & lsquo; n it & lsquo; there is no more heinous crime than abusing people, take their property by fraud, especially the poor who suffer and are without spirit and strength. Teufel be sent if Lost, it uses your science to relieve his ailments. you and he examines the rédiges une ordonnance, dice when he puts his hope in this piece of paper and believes his content with the divine help will the cure ; the pharmacist s & lsquo; also relates to you and GOD and delivers remedies. Or. how your act would be criminal if read acted lightly and how much your responsibility would be great.

"Instead of the patient, vaudrais you that we act well towards you. that & rsquo; it plays with your health and that it swindled your money, my child to be scrupulous, and advised because your sins are more serious before GOD.

"These words are sufficient to & rsquo; man of heart el fe No & lsquo; say no more, that & lsquo; they are present in your mind each day, morning and evening will never forget them. »

It s injunctions result in simple and realistic disproportion of the doctor-patient relationship and & rsquo; state of dependence in which the patient is rushed dice at that & rsquo; he suffers in his mind and in his body.

If Maimonides was referring to moral values ​​Essakali raises basic ethical principles without which the & rsquo; professional practice of medicine would degenerate into charlatanism.

C- modern medicine :

** MONTPELIER OATH :

The prototype of the oath taken by doctors is the one called "Montpelier" written in the Fourteenth Century by Lallemand, Dean of the Faculty :

"In the presence of the masters of this school, my dear fellow students and to the image of & rsquo; Hippocrates, I promise and swear d & rsquo; be faithful to the laws of the & rsquo; honor and integrity in the practice of medicine. "I will give my free care to the & rsquo; pauper and I n 'ever will demand a salary above my work."

"Admitted to the & rsquo; inside houses, my eyes laugh not see what s & lsquo; going there ; my tongue silent the secrets that are confided in me, and my condition will not be used to corrupt morals nor to promote crime. "

"Respectful and. grateful to my teachers, I will give their children the & rsquo; instruction that I received from their fathers. "That men m & lsquo; give their esteem if I am faithful to my promises, I am covered with & rsquo;. opprobrium and contempt of my colleagues if I lack "

**OATH OF GENEVA : adopted by the 2nd General Assembly of the World Medical Association Geneva (Suisse), September 1948,
AT THE TIME OF ADMISSION TO THE NUMBER OF MEMBERS OF THE MEDICAL PROFESSION:
I TAKE L & rsquo; SOLEMN OATH to devote my life to the service of & rsquo; humanity;
I KEEP to my teachers the respect and recognition that is their due;
J & rsquo; exercise my art with conscience and dignity;
I will consider the health of my patient will be my first consideration;
I WILL RESPECT the secrets of one who will be entrusted to me. even after the patient's death;
JE Maintiendrai, the extent of my ability, l & rsquo; honor and the noble traditions of the medical profession; MY COLLEAGUES will be my sisters and brothers;
I DO NOT ALLOW as d & rsquo considerations; political affiliation, d & rsquo; age, belief, illness or & rsquo; infirmity, nationality, d & rsquo; ethnicity, of race, sex, social status or sexual orientation come s & rsquo; intervene between my duty and my patient;
I KEEP absolute respect for human life from its beginning, even under threat and I don & rsquo; not'll use my medical knowledge against the laws of the & rsquo; humanity;
I MAKE THESE PROMISES solemnly, freely, on & rsquo; honor.

In Algeria, P draft of the law on the protection and promotion of public health offers at the time a project of allegiance to the & rsquo; for doctors, dental surgeons and pharmacists. It n & rsquo draft; has not been selected since the law 85-05 of 16 February 1985 on the protection and promotion of health ia, states in & rsquo; Article 199, the doctor, dentist and pharmacist, licensed to practice, utter an oath in front of their peers.

III- CONCLUSION :

A quick course oaths and prayers, comforting the & rsquo; idea that clinical ethics was born with medicine. The very existence of the oaths of respect hither denotes the profession and the patient. Their reading summarizes and confirms the & rsquo; immortality of some major principles such as the secret, probity and justice… The ritual prayers "medical" and vows strengthens & rsquo; humanism idea attached to the medical profession. The physician's moral commitment is likely to consolidate, maintain and nurture dedication.

Given the complexity of medicine of the 21st century, it is impossible that oath which dates back to the & rsquo; antiquity can encompass the current values. The meaning of the Hippocratic oath does not lie in its specific guidelines, but in the symbolism of the & rsquo; & rsquo ideal that; he vehicle, either in the selfless dedication linked to ia preservation of human life.

Dr BAHLOUL IMEN's course – Faculty of Constantine

1 COMMENT

Serments

0
62

I- INTRODUCTION :

L.a médecine dans sa définition la plus simple est une science qui a pour objet la conservation et le rétablissement de la santé.

Depuis l’Antiquité, toutes les sociétés ont eu à faire face à des problèmes de santé qui ont mené à la formation de groupes de guérisseurs et à l’élaboration de codes de déontologie pour régir les traitements dispensés.

Les serments que prêtent les médecins et les codes de déontologie évoluent parallèlement à l’émergence de nouveaux traitements médicaux et de nouveaux enjeux sociaux.

II- LES SERMENTS A TRAVERS L’HISTOIRE :

La médecine a traversé au cours de l’histoire de l’humanité, trois grandes phases:

A- La médecine de la magie primitive :

Le sorcier ou guérisseur « médecine des premiers âges ». possède un pouvoir magique présumé détenu d’une puissance surnaturelle. Ce pouvoir était indiscutable. Il concentrait éthique et déontologie confondues, et en tirait un pouvoir absolu.

B- la médecine archaïque :

Née de l’évolution de la médecine primitive. Elle a connu des progrès considérables au cours des civilisations hindou, chinoise, égyptienne, mésopotamienne, grecque, les débuts de l’Empire ottoman et l’Europe pré- Renaissance.

A ce nouvel élan de la médecine, basé sur la prise en charge clinique et thérapeutique du corps humain.

correspond l’apparition d’un premier code moral de l’exercice de la profession médicale.

**Le roi HAMMOURABI (XVIIIème siècle av J-C) est l’ancêtre d’un barème du dommage corporel, ii met en avant une des premières caractéristiques de la profession médicale : la responsabilité personnelle. Il fit graver dans la pierre à l’intention de ses successeurs : « Un médecin fuit une grave blessure à quelqu’un avec le scalpel et le tue, un médecin ouvre une tumeur avec le scalpel et crève l’œil, il aura les mains coupées. »

** HIPPOCRATE DE COS (460-377 av J-C) fut le premier à énoncer les bases d’une éthique médicale dont les termes et les principes sont repris actuellement dans les écoles occidentales sous forme de serment. Hippocrate, le plus ancien médecin et chirurgien connu, le père de la médecine vivait dans la Grèce de l’Antiquité.

Les étudiants en médecine prononcent le serment d’Hippocrate. Un rituel extrêmement ancien, qui engage le futur médecin à exercer son art en respectant toutes les exigences morales ou éthiques qui lui sont liées.

Un serment qui marque aussi le passage du statut d’étudiant à celui de médecin.

LE SERMENT D’HIPPOCRATE :

– Je jure par Apollon médecin, par Esculape, Hygie et Panacée, par tous les dieux et toutes les déesses, et je les prends à témoin que, dans la mesure de mes forces et de mes connaissances, je respecterai le serment et l’engagement écrit suivant :

Mon Maître en médecine, je le mettrai au meme rang que mes parents. Je partagerai mon avoir avec lui, et s il le faut je pourvoirai à ses besoins. Je considérerai ses enfants comme mes frères et s’ils veulent étudier la médecine, je la leur enseignerai sans salaire ni engagement. Je transmettrai les préceptes, les explications et les autre parties de l’enseignement à mes enfants, à ceux de mon Maître, aux élèves inscrits et ayant prêté serment suivant lu loi médicale, mais à nul autre.

Dans toute la mesure de mes forces et de mes connaissances, je conseillerai aux malades le régime de vie capable de les soulager et j’écarterai d’eux tout ce qui peut leur être contraire ou nuisible. Jamais je ne remettrai du poison, même si on me le demande, et je ne conseillerai vas d’y recourir. Je ne remettrai pas d’ovules abortifs aux femmes. Je passerai ma vie et j’exercerai mon art dans la pureté et le respect des lois. Je ne taillerai pas les calcul eux, mais laisserai cette opération aux praticiens qui s’en occupent. Dans toute maison où je serai appelé, je n’entrerai que pour le bien des malades. Je m’interdirai d’être volontairement une cause de tort ou de corruption, ainsi que toute entreprise voluptueuse à l’égard des femmes ou des hommes, libres ou esclaves. Tout ce que je verrai ou entendrai autour de moi, dans l’exercice de mon art ou hors de mon ministère, et qui ne devra pas être divulgué, je le tairai et le considérerai comme un secret.

Si je respecte mon serment sans jamais l’enfreindre, puissè-je jouir de la vie et de ma profession, et être honoré à jamais parmi tes hommes. Mais si je viole et deviens parjure, qu’un sort contraire m’arrive ! »

Chaque paragraphe de ee texte représente un précis de morale :

  • Un engagement solennel envers dieu avec toute l’assistance des témoins ;
  • La reconnaissance d’avoir bénéficié d’un savoir et de l’apprécier à sa juste valeur ;
  • L’engagement de respecter ce savoir, de le faire progresser, de le transmettre ;
  • L’engagement envers les malades de mettre à leur disposition pour le bienfait de la médecine, d’avoir une conduite exemplaire ;
  • D’avoir une honnêteté intellectuelle et la maitrise de ses pulsions ;
  • L’obligation du secret professionnel.

**LA PRIÈRE DE MAIMONIDE de son vrai nom Moïse Ben Maïmon – de la dynastie des Maïmonides – (1135-1204j ou Abou Omrane ben meimoune elkortobi en arabe, fut l’un des médecins les plus représentatifs de l’humanisme et de la médecine arabe. Abordant les problèmes moraux de la profession médicale, il rédige et fixe pour la postérité la prière ainsi énoncée :

– O Dieu, remplis mon âme d’amour pour l’art et pour toutes les créatures. N’admets pas que la soif du gain et la recherche de la gloire m’influencent dans l’exercice de mon art, car les ennemis de la vérité et l’amour des hommes pourraient facilement m’abuser et m’éloigner du noble devoir défaire du bien à tes enfants.

– Soutiens la force de mon cœur pour qu’il soit toujours près de servir le pauvre et le riche, l’ami et l’ennemi, le bon et le mauvais. Fais que je ne vois que l’homme dans celui qui souffre…

« Prête-moi, mon Dieu, l’indulgence et la patience auprès des malades entêtés et grossiers. Fais que je sois modéré en tout, mais insatiable dans mon amour de la science. Eloigne de moi l’idée que je peux tout. Donne-moi la force, la volonté et l’occasion d’élargir de plus en plus mes connaissances. Je peux aujourd’hui découvrir dans mon savoir des choses que je ne soupçonnais pas hier, car l’Art est grand mais l’esprit de l’homme pénètre toujours plus avant. »

Le serment de Maimonide se distingue de celui d’Hippocrate par un engagement personnel plus profond. C’est une véritable prière qui rappelle avec une sensibilité particulière que le médecin est d’abord un homme avec ses faiblesses et souligne la fragilité de ses connaissances.

** LE SERMENT de Mohamed Ech-Chérif Essakali Médecin tunisien du XlVème siècle, dans son texte énonce sous forme d’ultimes recommandations aux jeunes médecins, les met en garde dans les termes suivants :

« Sache, 6 mon enfant qu ‘il n ‘y a pas de crime plus abominable que d’abuser des gens, de prendre frauduleusement leurs biens, surtout les malheureux qui souffrent et qui sont sans esprit et sans force. Un pauvre être se sent perdu, il fait appel à ta science pour soulager ses maux. tu l’examines et lui rédiges une ordonnance, dés lors il met tout son espoir dans ce morceau de papier et croit que son contenu avec l ’aide divine va le guérir ; le pharmacien s ‘en rapporte aussi à toi et à DIEU et délivre les remèdes. Or. combien ton acte serait criminel si lu agissais à la légère et combien ta responsabilité serait grande.

« A la place du malade, vaudrais-tu qu ’on agisse ainsi envers toi. qu’on se joue de ta santé et qu ’on escroque ton argent, mon enfant soit scrupuleux, et avisé car tes fautes sont les plus graves devant DIEU.

« Ces paroles sont suffisantes à l’homme de cœur el fe n ‘en dirai pas plus, qu ‘elles soient présentes a ton esprit chaque jour, le matin comme le soir ne les oublie jamais. »

Ce s injonctions traduisent en termes simples et réalistes la disproportion de la relation médecin-malade et l’état de dépendance dans lequel est précipité le malade dés lors qu’il est atteint dans son esprit et dans son corps.

Si Maimonide se référait à des valeurs morales Essakali pose les principes déontologiques de base sans lesquels l’exercice de la profession de la médecine dégénérerait dans le charlatanisme.

C- la médecine moderne :

** SERMENT DE MONTPELIER :

Le prototype du serment prêté par les médecins est celui dit de « Montpelier » rédigé au XlVème siècle par Lallemand, doyen de cette même faculté :

« En présence des maîtres de cette école, de mes chers condisciples et devant l’effigie d’Hippocrate, je promets et je jure d’être fidèle aux lois de l’honneur et de probité dans l’exercice de la médecine. « Je donnerai mes soins gratuits à l’indigent et je n ’exigerai jamais un salaire au-dessus de mon travail.»

« Admis à l’intérieur des maisons, mes yeux rie verront pas ce qui s ‘y passe ; ma langue taira les secrets qui me seront confiés, et mon état ne servira pas à corrompre les mœurs ni a favoriser le crime.»

« Respectueux et. reconnaissant envers mes maîtres, je rendrai à leurs enfants l’instruction que j’ai reçue de leurs pères. « Que les hommes m ‘accordent leur estime si je suis fidèle à mes promesses, que je sois couvert d’opprobre et méprisé de mes confrères si j’y manque.»

**SERMENT DE GENÈVE : adopté par la 2e Assemblée générale de l’Association Médicale Mondiale Genève (Suisse), Septembre 1948,
AU MOMENT D’ETRE ADMIS AU NOMBRE DES MEMBRES DE LA PROFESSION MEDICALE:
JE PRENDS L’ENGAGEMENT SOLENNEL de consacrer ma vie au service de l’humanité;
JE GARDERAI pour mes maîtres le respect et la reconnaissance qui leur sont dus;
J’EXERCERAI mon art avec conscience et dignité;
JE CONSIDERERAI la santé de mon patient comme mon premier souci;
JE RESPECTERAI le secret de celui qui se sera confié à moi. même après la mort du patient;
JE MAINTIENDRAI, dans toute la mesure de mes moyens, l’honneur et les nobles traditions de la profession médicale; MES COLLEGUES seront mes sœurs et mes frères;
JE NE PERMETTRAI PAS que des considérations d’affiliation politique, d’âge, de croyance, de maladie ou d’infirmité, de nationalité, d’origine ethnique, de race, de sexe, de statut social ou de tendance sexuelle viennent s’interposer entre mon devoir et mon patient;
JE GARDERAI le respect absolu de la vie humaine dès son commencement, même sous la menace et je n’utiliserai pas mes connaissances médicales contre les lois de l’humanité;
JE FAIS CES PROMESSES solennellement, librement, sur l’honneur.

En Algérie, P avant-projet de la loi relative à la protection et à la promotion de la santé publique propose à l’époque un projet de serment à l’intention des médecins, des chirurgiens-dentistes et des pharmaciens. Ce projet de texte n’a pas été retenu puisque la loi 85-05 du 16 février 1985 relative à la protection et la promotion de ia santé, stipule dans l’article 199, que le médecin, le chirurgien-dentiste et le pharmacien, autorisé à exercer, prononcent un serment devant leurs pairs.

III- CONCLUSION :

Un parcours rapide des serments et des prières, réconforte l’idée que l’éthique clinique est née avec la médecine. L’existence même des serments dénote du respect dû cà la profession et au malade. Leur lecture résume et atteste l’immortalité de certains grands principes tels que le secret, la probité et la justice… Le rituel des prières « médicales » et des serments renforce l’idée d’humanisme attachée à la profession médicale. L’engagement moral du médecin est susceptible de consolider, d’entretenir et de nourrir la conscience professionnelle.

Compte tenu de la complexité de la médecine du 21e siècle, il est impossible qu’un serment qui remonte à l’antiquité puisse englober les valeurs actuelles. La signification du serment d’Hippocrate ne réside donc pas dans ses lignes directrices spécifiques, mais plutôt dans le symbolisme de l’idéal qu’il véhicule, soit dans le dévouement altruiste lié à ia préservation de la vie humaine.

Cours du Dr BAHLOUL IMEN – Faculté de Constantine

LAISSER UN COMMENTAIRE

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here