Disorders of protein metabolism

0
5290

I- GENERAL :

Protein metabolism plays an essential role in the functioning of cells and tissues .The proteins are made within the ribosome from amino acids supplied by food. These proteins are then excreted in the extracellular medium or accumulated in the endoplasmic reticulum. The Golgi apparatus plays a role in the storage, coupling or excretion of these proteins. Protein molecules are either used, be excreted at a rate which varies from one organ to another. A dynamic balance is normally established between the rate of synthesis and protein use. But many pathological conditions can disturb this balance at different levels :

■ Cell : Inhibition of synthesis due tetrachloride. Disturbance of the excretion with abnormal accumulation of proteins in the endoplasmic reticulum which expands causing cell degeneration or cell death.

■ Intercellular : Pathological protein deposits. These deposits realize 3 specific changes of the intercellular environment : L’amylose, the fibrinoid and hyaline.

II- AMYLOSE :

Also called amyloid or amyloid disease, amyloid is a pathological deposit of a homogeneous substance of ivory white color on a fresh member is colored brown by iodine as starch. The term amyloidosis is inappropriate, it is related to its coloration with iodine. Indeed, it is not a carbohydrate poly substance, but a glucoproteique substance with a protein component is greater but its carbohydrate component gives him the analogy with the starch.

1- IN MACROSCOPIE :

Amyloidosis is demonstrated by the reaction MECKEL. It involves applying iodine (lugol) on the cut surface of the fees affected organ : gives A SHADE BROWN MAHOGANY THAT TURNS BLUE-VIOLET, after application of a sulfurized acid solution 10%.

It is situated at the start in the glandular epithelium and endothelium in arterioles, then extends into the intercellular space and the entire thickness of the vascular walls, causing atrophy and loss of tissue.

2- IN OPTICAL MICROSCOPY :

After routine hematoxylin eosin staining, amylose if the color vanes en rose. Other elective colorings are used to highlight amyloidosis :
– RED CONGO : colors it red currant. In light polarized birefringence of amyloid is obtained.
– THE VIOLET Methyl : red purple and performs Metachromasia
– GREEN METHYL : violet coloration.
– LA THIOFLAVINE T : a pale green fluorescence microscopic examination under ultraviolet light.

3- ELECTRONIC MICROSCOPY :

It appears fibrillar structure. It consists of fibrils 7,5 – 10 nm which have jumble.

4- BIOCHEMICAL STRUCTURE :

The amyloid comprises :
– A carbohydrate moiety : 10-15% about.
– A protein fraction, basic, fibrillar structure made of protein fragments related to immunoglobulins. These fibrils are of several types according to their etiologies. Indeed, no one but the amyloids.

5- VARIETY CLINICAL ANATOMY :

A – AMYLOIDOSIS systematized OR WIDESPREAD :

  • PRIMITIVE GENERALIZED AMYLOSIS : (par perturbation immunocytaire). It includes all forms of amyloidosis in which the biochemical structure of amyloid fibrils is composed of light polypeptide chains kappa or lambda immunoglobulin, they say he is AL amyloid. This is the case of amyloid in the plasma cell dyscrasias : multiple myeloma, Disease Waldenstrôme. In this variety the amyloid preferentially localizes in skeletal muscle streak (language), digestive tract, larynx and lung.
  • AMYLOSE WIDESPREAD SECONDARY : This is the most common, is characterized by achieving major hepato-renal-spleno .It is associated with a chronic disease process such as :

– Inflammation granulomateuse (tuberculosis etc.).
– chronic suppurations : chronic osteomyelitis, bronchiectasis suppurative.
– chronic rheumatic inflammation.
– Cancers (rein, stomach, Hodgkin's disease etc.).

In this form, the biochemical composition of the fibrils is different from the previous : Amyloid is called A or AA amyloid.

  • MORPHOLOGICAL ASPECTS :

– LIVER : He rose very firm volume. Its surface is smooth, the cut surface is shiny. Histologiquement, deposits sit between the sinusoid and liver span. The compressed liver cells and whose exchanges are disrupted eventually fade.
– LA RATE : rarely huge, hard or elastic consistency. It has sometimes translucent deposits nodularisés, scattered in the white pulp sometimes a massive infiltration of the red pulp.
– THE KIDNEY : He's fat, blade, closed, cortical shows a yellowish tint. Histologically achieving interested glomerulus.

B- AMYLOIDOSIS LOCALIZED :

very rare form.
Examples :

  • cutaneous lichen amyloidosis or amyloid.
  • Amylose du tract gastro-intestinal.
  • senile amyloidosis (heart, lung, brain : Alzheimer's Disease)
  • Stroma amyloid certain tumors : Medullary thyroid carcinoma.

6- CONSEQUENCES OF Amylose :

The increased volume of deposits and their significance gradually lead to compression and smothering of nearby structures whether or not epithelial. The final stage is the atrophy of the affected organs or leading to impaired function of the affected organ. Reversibility is controversial.

7- OF STUDY :

The biopsy for histological study is an appropriate means for the diagnosis of clinically suspected amyloidosis. The choice of biopsy depends on the clinical and etiological context.

In biopsy secondary generalized amyloidosis puncture the kidney and especially of the liver is indicated. In primitive generalized amyloidosis, or in localized amyloidoses, rectal biopsy or gum is a means of choice and allows diagnosis in 75% of cases.

8- PATHOGENESIS amyloidosis :

Currently amyloidosis are considered to be related to disturbances of innate immune reactions or acquired :

  • In humans, amyloid deposits coincide with either a quantitative disorder (hypo or hyperactivity) with either a qualitative immune system disorder. However, neither the pathogenic mechanism or the cells that produce amyloid fibrils are not currently known with certainty.
  • In animals, it is shown an induction phase dependent T cells that accumulate before and diminish the appearance of the deposit from the moment or amyloidosis settles. Electron microscope, This abnormal protein and its precursor are manufactured by reticulo-histiocytic cell, monocytes, macrophages, histiocytes.

III- OTHER DEPOSITS CONDITIONS :

1- LA SUBSTANCE HYALINE :

It refers to a substance having an aspect FROSTED GLASS macroscopically, and corresponds histologically to anhistes deposits, homogeneous, eosinophils. On distingue :

  • vascular hyaline : interested especially small vessels (ex : Diabetes, lupus erythematosus, HTA benign.
  • hyaline conjunctiva : it is thick and dense collagen which takes a look says hyaline (ex : scar secondary to an inflammatory process, Multiple senile uterus and annexes after menopause).

His demonstrated by optical microscopy based on the same staining of collagen.

It does not take the PAS.

2- LA SUBSTANCE FIBRINOIDE :

It refers to an amorphous structure, eosinophilic, uniform which as its name suggests, has certain morphological characteristics of fibrin. Elle offers an aspect finement filamenteux or nucleus and color in roses take the Eosine, It is NOT positive.

It is observed in various circumstances :

  • In the normal state it is found in the placenta.
  • In the pathological condition is found :

– In the wall of the renal vessels in diabetes,
– In rheumatoid arthritis, in synovial and skin nodules juxtaarticular.
– In some allergic acute inflammations.

Course of Dr N. lemma – Faculty of Constantine

Troubles du métabolisme des protéines

0
81

I- GÉNÉRALITÉS :

Le métabolisme des protéines joue un rôle essentiel dans le fonctionnement des cellules et des tissus .Les protéines sont fabriquées au sein des ribosomes à partir des acides amines apportés par l’alimentation. Ces protéines sont ensuite excrétées dans le milieu extracellulaire ou accumulées dans le réticulum endoplasmique. L’appareil de golgi joue un rôle dans le stockage, le couplage ou l’excrétion de ces protéines. Les molécules protéiques sont soit utilisées, soit excrétées à une vitesse qui varie d’un organe à un autre. Un équilibre dynamique s’établit normalement entre le rythme de synthèse et d’utilisation des protéines. Mais de nombreuses conditions pathologiques peuvent perturber cet équilibre à différents niveaux :

■ Cellulaire : Inhibition de synthèse sous l’effet du tétrachlorure. Perturbation de l’excrétion avec accumulation anormale de protéines dans le réticulum endoplasmique qui se dilate entraînant une dégénérescence cellulaire ou mort cellulaire.

■ Intercellulaire : dépôts pathologiques des protéines. Ces dépôts réalisent 3 modifications précises du milieu intercellulaire : L’amylose, la fibrinoide et la hyaline.

II- AMYLOSE :

Appelée également maladie amyloïde ou amyloïdose, l’amylose est un dépôt pathologique d’une substance homogène de couleur blanc ivoire qui sur un organe frais se colore en brun par l’iode comme l’amidon. Le terme d’amylose est inapproprié, il est en relation avec sa coloration par l’iode. En effet, il ne s’agit pas d’une substance poly glucidique, mais d’une substance glucoproteique dont la composante protéique est plus importante mais sa composante glucidique lui confère l’analogie avec l’amidon.

1- EN MACROSCOPIE :

L’amylose est mise en évidence par la réaction de MECKEL. Elle consiste à appliquer de l’iode (lugol) sur la tranche de section de l’organe frais atteint : on obtient UNE TEINTE BRUN ACAJOU QUI VIRE AU BLEU-VIOLET, après application d’une solution acide sulfurée à 10%.

Elle se localise au début sous les épithéliums glandulaires et sous l’endothélium des artérioles, puis s’étend dans l’espace intercellulaire et toute l’épaisseur des parois vasculaires, provoquant atrophie puis disparition des tissus.

2- EN MICROSCOPIE OPTIQUE :

Apres coloration de routine à l’hémateïne éosine, l’amylose se colore en rose pale. D’autres colorations électives sont utilisées pour mettre en évidence l’amylose :
– LE ROUGE CONGO : la colore en rouge groseille. En lumière polarisée on obtient une biréfringence de la substance amyloïde.
– LE VIOLET DE METHYL : rouge pourpre et réalise une métachromasie
– LE VERT DE METHYL : coloration violette.
– LA THIOFLAVINE T : une fluorescence vert pale en examen au microscope en lumière ultraviolette.

3- EN MICROSCOPIE ÉLÉCTRONIQUE :

Elle apparaît de structure fibrillaire. Elle est constituée de fibrilles de 7,5 – 10 nm qui se disposent pêle-mêle.

4- STRUCTURE BIOCHIMIQUE :

La substance amyloïde comprend :
– Une fraction glucidique : 10-15% environ.
– Une fraction protéique, fondamentale, de structure fibrillaire faite de fragments protéiques apparentés aux immunoglobulines. Ces fibrilles sont de plusieurs types en fonction de leurs étiologies. En effet, il n’y a pas une mais des substances amyloïdes.

5- VARIÉTÉS ANATOMO-CLINIQUES :

A – L’AMYLOSE SYSTEMATISÉE OU GÉNÉRALISÉE :

  • AMYLOSE GÉNÉRALISÉE PRIMITIVE : (par perturbation immunocytaire). Elle regroupe toutes les formes d’amyloses dans lesquelles la structure biochimique des fibrilles amyloïdes est composée de polypeptides de chaînes légères Kappa ou Lambda d’immunoglobulines, on dit qu’il s’agit d’amyloïde AL. C’est le cas des amyloïdes au cours des dyscrasies plasmocytaires : Myélome multiple, Maladie de Waldenstrôme. Dans cette variété la substance amyloïde se localise préférentiellement au niveau du muscle strie squelettique (langue), tube digestif, larynx et poumon.
  • AMYLOSE GÉNÉRALISÉE SECONDAIRE : C’est la plus fréquente, se caractérise par une atteinte hépato-spléno-rénale majeure .Elle est en rapport avec un processus pathologique chronique tel que :

– Inflammation granulomateuse (tuberculose etc.).
– Suppurations chroniques : ostéomyélite chronique, bronchectasie suppurée.
– Inflammations rhumatismales chroniques.
– Cancers (rein, estomac, maladie de Hodgkin etc).

Dans cette forme, la composition biochimique des fibrilles est différente de la précédente : L’amyloïde est dénommée A ou amyloïde AA.

  • ASPECTS MORPHOLOGIQUES :

– LE FOIE : Il est augmenté de volume très ferme. Sa surface est lisse, la tranche de section est brillante. Histologiquement, les dépôts siègent entre les sinusoïdes et les travées hépatiques. Les cellules hépatiques comprimées et dont les échanges sont perturbés finissent par s’effacer.
– LA RATE : Rarement énorme, de consistance dure ou élastique. Elle présente tantôt des dépôts translucides nodularisés, disséminés dans la pulpe blanche tantôt une infiltration plus massive de la pulpe rouge.
– LE REIN : Il est gros, pâle, ferme, la corticale montre une teinte jaunâtre. Histologiquement l’atteinte intéresse le glomérule.

B- L’AMYLOSE LOCALISÉE :

Forme très rare.
Exemples :

  • Amylose cutanée ou lichen amyloïde.
  • Amylose du tractus gastro-intestinal.
  • Amylose sénile (cœur, poumon, cerveau : Maladie d’Alzeimer)
  • Stroma amyloïde de certaines tumeurs : carcinome médullaire de la thyroïde.

6- CONSÉQUENCES DE L’AMYLOSE :

L’augmentation de volume des dépôts et leur importance mènent progressivement à la compression et à l’étouffement des structures voisines qu’elles soient épithéliales ou non. Le stade ultime est l’atrophie du ou des organes atteints conduisant à une insuffisance fonctionnelle de l’organe atteint. Sa réversibilité est controversée.

7- MOYENS D’ÉTUDE :

La biopsie pour étude histologique constitue un moyen adéquat pour le diagnostic de l’amylose cliniquement suspectée. Le choix de la biopsie dépend du tableau clinique et du contexte étiologique.

Dans les amyloses généralisées secondaires la ponction biopsie du rein et surtout du foie est indiquée. Dans les amyloses généralisée primitives, ou dans les amyloses localisées, la biopsie rectale et ou gingivale est un moyen de choix et permet le diagnostic dans 75% des cas environ.

8- PATHOGÉNIE DE L’AMYLOIDOSE :

Actuellement les amyloses sont considérées comme liées à des perturbations des réactions immunitaires innées ou acquises :

  • Chez l’homme, les dépôts amyloïdes coïncident soit avec un trouble quantitatif (hypo ou hyperactivité) soit avec un trouble qualitatif du système immunitaire. Cependant ni le mécanisme pathogénique ni les cellules qui fabriquent les fibrilles amyloïdes ne sont actuellement connus avec certitude.
  • Chez l’animal, il est démontré une phase d’induction sous la dépendance des cellules T qui s’accumulent avant et diminuent l’apparition du dépôt dés le moment ou l’amyloïdose s’installe. Au microscope électronique, cette protéine anormale et son précurseur sont fabriqués par des cellules reticulo-histiocytaires, monocytes, macrophages, histiocytes.

III- AUTRES DÉPÔTS PATHOLOGIQUES :

1- LA SUBSTANCE HYALINE :

Elle désigne une substance ayant un aspect de VERRE DEPOLI en macroscopie, et correspond histologiquement à des dépôts anhistes, homogènes, éosinophiles. On distingue :

  • Hyaline vasculaire : intéresse surtout les vaisseaux de petit calibre (ex : Diabète, Lupus érythémateux, HTA bénigne.
  • Hyaline conjonctive : il s’agit de collagène épais et dense qui prend un aspect dit hyalin (ex : Cicatrice secondaire à un processus inflammatoire, Sclérose sénile de l’utérus et des annexes après la ménopause).

Sa mise en évidence en microscopie optique repose sur les mêmes colorations du collagène.

Elle ne prend pas le PAS.

2- LA SUBSTANCE FIBRINOIDE :

Elle désigne une structure amorphe, éosinophile, homogène qui comme son nom l’indique, présente certains caractères morphologiques de la fibrine. Elle offre un aspect finement filamenteux ou granuleux et se colore en rose vif à l’éosine, elle est PAS positive.

Elle est observée dans des circonstances diverses :

  • A l’état normal on la trouve dans le placenta.
  • A l’état pathologique on la trouve :

– Dans la paroi des vaisseaux du rein au cours du diabète,
– Dans la polyarthrite rhumatismale, au niveau des synoviales et des nodules cutanés juxta-articulaires.
– Dans certaines inflammations aiguës allergiques.

Cours du Dr N. LEMAICI – Faculté de Constantine

LAISSER UN COMMENTAIRE

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here